Once again, we are going to tell you something interesting about the city of Valencia. This time we want to say a little bit more about the Palacio del Marqués de Dos Aguas
Regarding the history of this building, it was owned by the Rabassa of Perellós, who were named Marquises of Two Waters in 1699 by King Carlos II. After this it was renovated several times during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. The first time was in 1740 approximately, and the improvements gave this palace a look that was unrivalled by any other.
The work transformed it into an irregular-shaped quadrangle, organised around a courtyard and with towers at each of its corners, which is very evocative of the era. As for its façade, the most impressive part has to be a sculpture of the Virgen del Rosario made from alabaster, which is a stone originating from the Valencia province.
The Palacio del Marqués de Dos Aguas was declared a historic/artistic site in the twentieth century and was bought by the state in order to display the ceramic collection donated by Manuel González Martí. A number of further renovations were carried out, the last of which was in 1998.
The building is currently the National Ceramics Museum and is home to the González Martí collection because of the aforementioned donation. After receiving this donation, the palace received countless visits for seven years, and based on this success it was decided that it would become a museum where collections of special interest in the Valencian tradition and to local artists would be displayed.
Near the vestibule on the ground floor there is a “courtyard of carriages” which, as its name indicates, was the courtyard where the carriages were kept. The piece “Carroza de las Ninfas” (carriage of the nymphs) is currently on display, dated to 1753 and without doubt one of the most impressive examples, owing to its unique design.
In addition to this, the ground floor hosts a number chambers belonging to the marquises, containing original furniture and various objects of interest, such as vases, clocks etc, in addition to the exquisite decoration of the palace itself.
With regard to the second floor, it has been dedicated to the exhibition of various ceramics, whether for practical use, adornment or as architectural elements. The highlight of the collection is a set of medieval Christian ceramics from Manises and Paterna, which date back to Greek, Iberian and Roman antiquity. And of course, this is in addition to the first collection donated by its founder González Martí, which is exhibited in the various spaces on the second floor.
The palace, or Ceramics Meseum, is located between the calle Poeta Querol (Old Square Villarrasa and Maria de Molina), calle Federico García Sanchiz (the old calle de la abadia de San Martín) and calle de San Andrés. It’s certainly an honour for the city to be able to conserve these museums for the general public and has taken a great deal of effort over the years. So when you come to Valencia, don’t forget to have a look at this fascinating place, the Palacio del Marqués de Dos Aguas.